The Ferrers Chapel of the Holy Trinity, Staunton Harold
The chapel is located in the grounds of Staunton Harold Hall, which is privately owned. The chapel, itself, is owned by the National Trust.
Car parking is available to the south of the Nursery & Garden Centre. Please keep to the paths when walking around the hall to the chapel.
Take a look at our Service Schedule.
Staunton Harold By John Fox
With a Foreword by The Rt. Hon. The Earl Ferrers.
This book tells the story of the beautiful hall at Staunton Harold and the people who have lived there during the past 1000 years. Their fascinating family history includes such characters as Robert Shirley, who was responsible for building the unique Chapel and whose son was created the first Earl Ferrers by Queen Anne. Selina Shirley, the evangelical Christian who became Countess of Huntington, was a friend and associate of John and Charles Wesley. Selina's cousin Laurence the 4th Earl, was guilty of murder and was executed.
This well-illustrated book brings the story of Staunton Harold right up to date. It tells how the Hall was saved from demolition in the 20th century by what has often been described as a miracle. There is much information about Staunton Harold's 30 years as a Cheshire Home and also about its current role as a Sue Ryder Care Centre.
At a time when the Sue Ryder Centre at Staunton Harold is facing imminent closure, this book is a timely reminder of the caring work which has been carried out in that lovely place for many years.
"Staunton Harold" is published by the Kairos Press, 552 Bradgate Road, Newtown Linford, Leicestershire LE6 0HB
Telephone: 01530 2422959
Copies are available locally in the Pinnacle Store and Post Office at Breedon, in Sue Ryder shops at Staunton Harold, at Calke Abbey and elsewhere. Copies may also be ordered from the publisher, from any bookseller or from the author (0115 9817981)
72 pages ISBN 1-871344-19-8